Washington Paid Family & Medical Leave

What's covered?

Your own medical condition

condition

Caring for family members

.

Leave for military families

Bonding with a

or adoption)

child (birth, foster

Time to care for your family as they care for our country.

Families of our active duty military members play a critical service role to this country. Paid Family and Medical Leave will provide **paid time off to**:

- Take leave during your family member's R&R.
- Spend time together during reintegration.
- Attend military ceremonies.
- Deal with short-notice deployments.
- Take care of a family member injured in combat or as a result of active duty service.
- Additional qualifying events as defined in the federal Family and Medical Leave Act.

"Family" is more than dependents.



This benefit is for family of active duty servicemembers. That means dependents like spouses and children, but also:

- Parents, step-parents and in-laws
- Grandparents and grandparent in-laws
- Siblings

More info at paidleave.wa.gov



Employment Security Department WASHINGTON STATE For military family members working in Washington.

At some time in our lives, we all need to give or receive care. Paid Family and Medical

insurance program that will help Washingtonians take paid time off in life's most challenging times. Premium collection began

Jan. 1, 2019, and benefit claims

Leave is a new statewide

begin Jan. 2020.

This benefit, starting Jan. 2020, is for all non-federal workers in Washington state. This includes the family of active duty servicemembers who work part- or full-time for businesses of all sizes, in both the private and public sectors. *Federal workers, including active duty military, are not eligible.*

What's the weekly benefit?

You can get up to 12 weeks of partial pay to care for yourself or a family member during illness or injury, and for maternity and paternity leave if you have a child through birth, adoption or foster placement. You can get 16 to 18 weeks in some extreme circumstances.



The weekly benefit ranges from \$100 to \$1,000 depending on your income. The less you make, the higher percentage of your pay you get, up to 90 percent.

How is this paid for?

This is a statewide insurance program and is funded by a small premium that is shared by workers and their employers. The average worker pays just over \$2 per week.

